The Complete Shakespeare Experience    

Founded in 1875 as the Shakespeare Memorial Company, the company, based in Shakespeare’s hometown of Stratford-upon-Avon, was granted a royal charter in 1925 and it, along with the theater where they performed (Shakespeare Memorial Theatre) were renamed.

The Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) operates three venues in Stratford-upon-Avon, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, the Swan Theatre (an Elizabethan era-styled theater), and the Other Place (a studio theatre).

The performing company primarily focuses on works by Shakespeare, Elizabethan, and Jacobean playwrights. It produces some modern works as well.

The original Shakespeare Memorial Theatre, built in 1879 by Charles Edward Flower, was destroyed by fire in 1926. A new theater opened on the grounds in 1932.

Artistic directors included Peter Hall, Terry Hands, Adrian Noble, and Trevor Nunn.

The company also established a second unit in London at the Barbican theater, where they were able to perform year-round. The RSC no longer has a permanent presence at any specific theater in London but it maintains a base there and, since 1977, in Newcastle, and also tours internationally.

In 2010, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and the Swan Theatre were renovated and expanded. A tower was built on the site to provide views of the surrounding countryside and new dressing rooms and dining facilities were added. The theaters also saw the addition of thrust stages into the audience area similar to those in the Elizabethan era.

Like Us


The Royal


Company Theatre